• Member of the Technical Advisory Board of the MBZIRC, Abu Dhabi, UAE (2014-2020)

  • Vice President (2023- ), Trustee (2016-) and Former Trustee (2003-2012) of the RoboCup Federation

  • Founding Elected President (2006) and 2008, 2009 and 2013 President of IEEE Portugal RAS Chapter

  • Founding member (No 1) and Former President (2009-2010) of Sociedade Portuguesa de Robótica (Portuguese Robotics Society)

  • Cátedra de Excelencia (6 months) awarded by the Board of Governors of the U. Carlos III de Madrid: sabbatical leave at the Robotics Lab from 1 Feb to 31 July 2010

  • Member of NASA Center for Intelligent Robotic System for Space Exploration - Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, (1990-1994)

Editorial Boards

Conference Chair